top of page

The Things We Carry

I went blind on a Thursday it
was very cold that day I remember
it I was near a Pandora store on
the high street. He met me behind
the store and I told him we couldn’t be
he said we could. How do I believe a man
who steals for pleasure and kisses to torture
himself. he has made me ill with deception
I cannot any longer bare it I cannot erase
a hand crashing on cheek
tears crying themselves sleepy
sleeping sleeping sleeping
my life seeping into its own pores
I thought “that was crazy” then
“maybe it wasn’t”.
Maybe it’s okay to lie flat while
pain creeps onto your shaking body
Maybe my loneliness feeds his
Maybe we belong to a lonely life
together eating croissants that I made
too dark this time too hot too hot
I’m leaning against Pandora’s wall feeling
burdened with the truth a supposed ‘set me free’ truth
a tear falls into my Pandora bag
a diamond made wet.
A wet diamond I now must carry
Home blind.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page